Running a Trail Ultra is an event that usually takes place where there is larger elevation changes, mountains, hills, rocky coastlines...

This type of race could include mountain passes at altitude (> 2500 m), in weather conditions that can be very difficult (night, wind, cold, rain or snow), requires good training, the best equipment and a mental capacity to dig deep. A Trail Ultra is a race format that usually exceeds 80km and 800m elevation gain with less than 15% of tarmac / road.


Running an Ultra?

A Word from the Team

Find the advice of our experts and athletes Jordi Gamito, Maite Maiora, Nathalie Mauclair and Christophe le Saux.

Equipment

Which shoe to use for long distance? Which race vest?

Training

Running 80Km it's getting ready! Find a structured training plan to be ready on the starting line.

A word from Team RaidLight

Always warm up, even before an Ultra, even a few straight lines! The main thing is to run according to yourself and not get carried away by a false pace or a more or less fast runner. You have to run by feeling, with the groundwork done, there is no need for your heart rate monitor now, you have to trust yourself and listen to your legs and your body. Keep in mind, if a little setback happens, you will recover! The mind is the key on these races, don't hesitate to read and look at the previous results and reports, prepare yourself as well as possible. Learn about the course, the feed stations and the elevation changes. Setting a goal is important, prepare a time sheet with your predicted checkpoint times. Finally, visualize yourself crossing the finish line.

NATHALIE MAUCLAIR

Don't forget that it could be a technical course in the high mountains with a changing climate, so make sure you have versatile equipment to protect yourself from the cold, especially at nightOne last point on equipment and food, you should avoid last-minute changes and have tested, eaten, drunk and worn several times everything that you will use in the race. In short, you'll have enough surprises during the race, at least try to manage what you can control. On the start line, you feel like setting off to conquer a new world, that of the Ultra. Shivers run through your body, the start is given and you will live this long journey, punctuated by difficulties and extraordinary moments, open your eyes wide and let yourself be carried away...

THE WORD OF THE TEAM MEMBERS CYRIL C. / ÉTIENNE D.

TRAINING PROGRAM

Specific preparation (3-4 sessions per week)

Concerning the organisation, go to : A short VO2Max session in kind, the aim being to build up speed by working on one's support. A 2-day block, preferably on the weekend to link together a lot of volumes with a focus on 2 "shock" weekends. A relaxation phase
.

The specific speed is that of the Ultra that you are going to run.

For 4 weekly sessions, you can add in the middle of the week a session of 1h30' on trail at a specific pace, with a progression of intervals at 80-85% MaxHR.

2x10' with 2' of recovery

3x10' with 2' of recovery

2x15' with 2' of recovery

50' running specific pace the week of the weekend block, 50' running specific pace the week after the weekend block 2x20' with 2' of recovery

50' running specific pace the week of the weekend block 50' running specific pace the week after the weekend block

50' running specific pace

40' running specific pace

Nathalie Mauclair's advice

Remember to do toning sessions by bike and on foot, one in the morning and one in the afternoon! Know how to save yourself while remaining effective, avoid bouncing strides and be as relaxed as possible. Do not hesitate to work in specific: Proprioception

Plyometrics

Strength and Conditioning

The abdominals

The stride according to the terrain

Focus on what you need to evolve and improve. Think about recovery, give yourself time to recuperate between sessions and above all have fun in the race.

ONE SESSION LESS IS BETTER THAN ONE SESSION TOO MANY..

The last days

There's no quick fix. It's just my opinion... The fundamental point is to be rested: no sleep delay, recovery from the trip, no session lasting the last 10 days. Unlike a "short" race like a half-marathon or trail of 50 km where you want to accumulate juice, I think it's better to "acclimatize" to the mountains. For this, a hiking program (in reconnaissance for example) is ideal. For Reunion Island, I usually hike 5-6 hours a day, very slowly, until Tuesday, the race being on Friday. I have also noticed that in hiking as well as in stage races, you feel good in the mountains after 3 days of acclimatization to the effort, to the climbs and descents. I am therefore looking for this "mountain acclimatization" quietly the week before.

Courir un format Ultra est une épreuve disputée généralement en montagne

Ce format comporte de nombreux passages en altitude (> 2500 m), dans des conditions climatiques pouvant être très difficiles (nuit, vent, froid, pluie ou neige), nécessite un très bon entraînement, un matériel adapté et une réelle capacité d’autonomie personnelle. Un Ultra est un format de course qui dépasse les 80 km et 800 m de dénivelé avec – de 15 % de route.


Courir un Ultra ?

Le Mot du Team

Retrouvez les conseils de nos experts et athlètes Jordi Gamito, Maite Maiora, Nathalie Mauclair et Christophe le Saux.

Equipement

Quelle chaussure utiliser pour la longue distance ? Quel sac de trail ?

Entrainement

Courir 80Km ça se prépare ! Retrouvez un plan d'entrainement structuré pour être prêt sur la ligne de départ

Le Mot du Team RaidLight

« Toujours s’échauffer, même avant un Ultra, même que quelques lignes droites ! Le principal est de courir en fonction de soi et de ne pas se laisser entrainer par un faux rythme ou un coureur plus ou moins rapide. Il vous faut courir au feeling, avec le travail de foncier réalisé, il n’y a plus besoin de cardio, il faut maintenant se faire confiance et écouter ses jambes et son corps. Gardez bien en tête, si un coup de moins bien vous prend, ça revient toujours ! Le mental est la clé sur ces formats, n’hésitez pas à lire et regarder les éditions précédentes pour vous préparer au mieux. Apprenez bien le parcours, les points de ravitaillements et la courbe de niveau. Se fixer un objectif est important, préparez-vous une anti-sèche avec vos temps de passage prévisionnel. Enfin, visualisez-vous en train de passer la ligne d’arrivée. »

Nathalie Mauclair

« Ne pas oublier qu’il s’agit d’un parcours technique en haute montagne avec un climat changeant donc bien prévoir un équipement polyvalent pour se prémunir du froid surtout la nuit. Un dernier point sur le matériel et l’alimentation, où il convient d’éviter les plans de dernière minute et d’avoir testé et approuvé à plusieurs reprises ce que l’on va utiliser en course. Bref, des surprises vous en aurez assez au gré du parcours et de vos sensations, essayez au moins de vous rassurer sur ce que vous pouvez contrôler et optimiser. Sur la ligne de départ, vous avez l’impression de partir à la conquête d’un nouveau monde, celui de l’Ultra. Des frissons vous traversent le corps, le départ est donné et vous allez vivre ce long voyage intérieur, ponctué de difficultés et de moments extraordinaires, ouvrez grand les yeux et laissez-vous porter… »

LE MOT DES MEMBRES DU TEAM CYRIL C. / ÉTIENNE D.

CONSEILS D'ENTRAINEMENT

Préparation spécifique (3-4 séances par semaine)

Concernant l’organisation, partir sur : Une séance de VMA courte en nature, le but étant de faire de la vitesse en travaillant ses appuis Un bloc de 2 jours, de préférence le weekend pour enchaîner pas mal de volumes avec un focus sur 2 weekend « chocs » Une phase de relâchement
.

L’allure spécifique ou objectif, c’est celle de l’ultratrail que vous allez courir.

Pour 4 séances hebdo, on peut rajouter en milieu de semaine une séance de 1h30’ en nature allure spécifique, avec une progression de fractions à 80-85%FCM

2x10’ avec 2’ de R

3x10’ avec 2’ de R

2x15’ avec 2’ de R

50’ running allure spécifique la semaine du WE Choc 50’ running allure spécifique la semaine qui suit le WE Choc 2x20’ avec 2’ de R

50’ running allure spécifique la semaine du WE Choc 50’ running allure spécifique la semaine qui suit le WE Choc

50’ running allure spécifique

40’ running allure spécifique

Le conseil de Nathalie Mauclair

Bien penser à faire des séances toniques en vélo et à pied, une le matin et une l’après-midi ! Savoir s’économiser tout en restant efficace, éviter les foulées bondissantes et être le plus relâché possible. N’hésitez pas à travailler en spécifique : La proprioception

La pliométrie

Le gainage

Les abdominaux

La foulée en fonction du terrain

Se focaliser sur ce sur quoi l’on a besoin d’évoluer et de s’améliorer. Bien penser à la récupération, se laisser le temps de récupérer entre les séances et surtout prendre du plaisir en course.

MIEUX VAUT UNE SÉANCE DE MOINS QUE LA SÉANCE DE TROP.

Les derniers jours

Il n’y a pas de solution miracle. C’est juste mon avis…
Le point fondamental c’est d’être reposé : pas de retard de sommeil, récupération du voyage, pas de séance dure les 10 derniers jours. Au contraire d’une course « courte » type semi-marathon ou trail de 50 km où on recherche à accumuler du jus, je pense qu’il vaut mieux «s’acclimater » à la montagne. Pour cela, un programme de randonnée (en reconnaissance par exemple) est idéal. Pour la Réunion, je randonne généralement 5-6 heures par jour, très doucement, jusqu’au mardi, la course étant le vendredi. J’ai aussi fait le constat qu’aussi bien en randonnée qu’en course à étapes, on se sent bien en montagne après 3 jours d’acclimatation à l’effort, aux montées, aux descentes. Je recherche donc cette « acclimatation à la montagne » tranquillement la semaine qui précède.