What's a desert race?

This race format is run in self-sufficiency, the runner carries their own pack with food/clothes/sleeping. The weight can vary from 6.5 kg to 15 kg depending on the runner's level and speed of progress. The temperature can go up to 50°C during the day in full sun and go down to 3°C at night. The terrain is varied between sand dunes, rocky, dry riverbeds, tracks, small mountains...So, in this environment, the whole body is put to the test. We have some advice that deals with the 3 key elements necessary to take on such a challenge.

Desert Race Challenge

The equipment

Running for several days under a blazing sun requires suitable clothing and equipment. RaidLight has developed ultralight products designed for a Marathon des Sables type format.

Training

Wearing 6kg for several days in the race? You need an adapted training plan!

Food

On the half and full format of Marathon des Sables you have to carry all of your food. But what foods give you the nutrients you need for a race like this?

Testimonials

Physically the desert races require a rigorous preparation, I start it 5 months before the race. I vary my training between weight training and cardio but also in terms of terrain in order to be as complete as possible. I train an average of 3h/day morning and evening. In terms of mental preparation, I imagine myself crossing the line as much in training as on the day of the race.
RACHID EL MORABITY

Preparation advice

Training

We don't have the intention here to make one / more training plans to prepare for a "desert race". These plans must be built to the individual's time availability, experience and level. However, we do have "guidelines" which can assist you in your preparation.

1 Do not stereotype your training as all about endurance. You should do varied training, working at different efforts and pace: endurance but also threshold, VO2 Max...even with 3 training sessions per week.

2 For endurance, there is no need to run for more than 2 hours. Afterwards you get fatigue, you get tired and you can't train properly the following week. On the other hand, it is essential to go hiking, mountain walking or walk/run for 4 to 6 hours once a week. It is also an opportunity to do plenty of elevation and to get used to the technical trails.

3 When you are doing intervals, a 30-minute warm-up and a 15-minute cool-down is sufficient. Don't do any more unnecessary effort, and work your sets better. When you do efforts, 30 to 40 minutes are enough. When you do endurance, push up to 1h30 - 2h00. But don't try to do 2 or 3 things in the same session...

4 The pack. Taking the pack too often exposes you to overload and injury. For example, wear it only for the last month of training, once a week, during the threshold session. It is during this session that you concentrate on your race pace, so try to reproduce the elements of the race.

5 Don't do too many kilometres! The major fault of multi day runners is to do too much endurance. You get exhausted, and you limit the "cubic capacity". You don't prepare for Stage racing by running 2 hours every day!

Preparation advice

Preparation

Desert races are endurance races and runners must prepare themselves mentally, but above all physically for the repeated effort. It is important to pay particular attention to your food. The race takes place in self-sufficiency under a harsh sun, the runner must be well hydrated and well fed so as not to succumb to the conditions. Most runners, aware of the difficulty of the event, choose to follow diets and stick to a balanced diet months in advance.

During the race

Runners are self-sufficient for the duration of the event. They must also travel light and have a minimum ration of 2000 kcal/day. The aim is to restore the reserves that the body uses during the race. Hypoglycaemia is the exhaustion of the body's sugar reserves. When the blood sugar level drops, the body is completely exhausted. You will need to consider carbohydrate-rich foods and liquid foods, they are easier to eat while walking. In addition, they will help to reduce fatigue during the run. You should also think about hydration before, during and after the race to avoid dehydration. It will be necessary to fill up with water and energy/electrolyte tablets. Combined together, they will help the body to manage during the event.

After the event

The body as a whole will be tired and the runner must gradually accustom back to "normal life", particularly their digestive system to a more regular diet. It is better to go slowly and avoid large portions and heavy/rich foods that are difficult to digest in favour of lighter meals in moderate quantities. In summary, nutrition and hydration are important when embarking on this type of adventure. The Marathon des Sables is an endurance event, the body will have to be able to withstand the load placed on it, it is important to have an appropriate diet.

Hygiene

Remember, there are no toilets, showers, electricity or mobile phone sockets... But here are some small items of equipment to ensure basic hygiene and equipment maintenance: Microfibre towel Fresh gloves - these gloves allow you to wash without water. Thread + Needles, Patch fabric, Glue - a good runner is also a good handyman... Tissues, Sunscreen, Anti-friction cream, Soap, Earplugs

Food

Desert races like the Marathon des Sables are among the most difficult races in the world, it is not for nothing that the MDS inherited this title, it is run over 240 km in 6 stages and 7 days, all in extreme weather and terrain. The runner has to be self-sufficient throughout the event. For those who are considering taking part, here are a few tips to remember.

Suggested hydration/eating plan

In partnership with Isostar and a professional nutritionist, you will find below a suggested hydration/nutrition plan. The hot climatic conditions of the desert require a fairly substantial consumption of liquids. On the basis of 800ml per hour and a carbohydrate intake of 90g per hour, here is your estimated consumption:

1 BOOSTER ENERGY GEL ↦ 16 GR / H

The gel is easily and quickly digested, even when you are tired. They are fast-acting and should be taken continuously, varying the taste each time. Every 60 minutes, alternating every 60 minutes.

½ ENDURANCE BAR ↦ 14 GR / H OF CARBOHYDRATES

These bars are fast energy, and provide "something for the stomach to digest". They are fast acting and should be taken continuously, varying the taste each time. ½ bar every 30 minutes in alternation.

H&P DRINK: 800 ML / H ↦ 56 GR / H OF H&P CARBOHYDRATES

Electrolyte-charged drink prepared for: - Energy intake (combination of slow and fast sugars) - Avoid important loss of salts - Maintain a sustained effort for several hours - Fight against muscular fatigue.

BICARBONATE STICK

An innovative action that helps neutralize lactic acid within the muscle. At the end of the effort. While continuing to hydrate, replenish energy stores and rest the muscles. Meals - Pack 7 days self-sufficiency (1 sachet = 1 meal)

The Desert Race Pack is a good base. Repackaging meals in freezer bags saves about 500 grams and a lot of space in the pack. This pack is a BASE; it's up to you to add to it with little things that will make you feel good and cheer you up! Note: These meals can also be rehydrated with hot water to speed up the rehydration process.

Qu'est ce qu'une course désert ?

Ce format de course se parcourt en autosuffisance alimentaire où le coureur porte son propre sac à dos. Le poids peut varier de 6,5 kg à 15 kg selon le niveau et la vitesse de progression du coureur. La température ambiante peut aller jusqu’à 50°Cla journée en plein soleil et descendre à 3° la nuit.Le terrain est varié entre les dunes, plateaux caillouteux, pistes, petites montagnes…Ainsi, dans cet environnement, l’organisme est mis à rude épreuve ! C’est pourquoi nous vous proposons une fiche conseil qui traite 3 piliers nécessaires à la réalisation d’un tel type d’épreuve.

Défi course désert

L'équipement

Courir plusieurs jours sous un soleil de plomb requiert une tenue adaptée ! RaidLight a crée des produit ultralight pensé pour un format marathon des sables.

Entrainement

Porter 6kg pendant plusieurs jours en course ? Il vous faut un plan d'entrainement adapté !

Alimentation

Sur un format half ou marathon il vous faudra porter votre repas. Mais quels aliments peuvent vous apporter les nutriments nécessaires à une course sous des fortes chaleurs ?

Testimonials

Physiquement les courses désert nécessitent une préparation rigoureuse, je la démarre5 mois avant la course. Je varie mon entraînement entre musculation et cardio mais aussi en termes de terrains afin d’être le plus complet possible. Je m’entraine en moyenne 3h/jour matin et soir. Niveau préparation mentale, je m’imagine passer la ligne autant en entraînement que le jour de la course.

RACHID EL MORABITY

Conseils de préparation

Entraînement

Nous n’avons pas l’ambition ici de faire un / des plans d’entraînements pour préparer une « course désert ». Ces plans doivent être adaptés aux disponibilités, à l’expérience et au niveau de chacun. Nous avons par contre des « orientations » qui peuvent vous guider dans votre préparation.

1 Ne pas stéréotyper votre entraînement sur l’endurance. Il faut faire de l’entraînement varié, en travaillant à différents rythmes : endurance mais aussi seuil, VMA…même avec 3 entraînements par semaine.

2 Pour l’endurance, il est inutile de courir plus de 2 heures. Après on s’épuise, on se fatigue et on ne peut plus s’entraîner correctement la semaine suivante. Par contre il est indispensable de faire de la randonnée ou de la rando course (alternance marche et course), pendant 4 à 6 heures une fois par semaine. C’est aussi l’occasion d’accumuler du dénivelé et de s’habituer aux sentiers techniques.

3 Quand vous faites du fractionné, un échauffement de 30 minutes, et une récupération de 15 minutes sont suffisantes. N’en faites pas plus inutilement, et travaillez mieux vos séries. Quand vous faites de la résistance, 30 à 40 minutes suffisent. Quand vous faites de l’endurance, poussez jusqu’à 1h30 – 2h00. Mais n’essayez pas de faire 2 ou 3 choses sur la même séance...

4 Le sac à dos. Prendre le sac à dos trop souvent, c’est s’exposer à la surcharge et à la blessure. Par exemple, ne le portez que le dernier mois, une fois par semaine, lors de la séance de SEUIL. C’est en effet sur cette séance que l’on travaille l’allure de course, donc essayez de reproduire les éléments de la course.

5 Ne faites pas trop de kilomètres ! Le défaut majeur des coureurs de raids et de faire trop d’endurance. On s’épuise, et on limite la « cylindrée ». On ne prépare pas les Grands Raids en faisant 2h00 de running par jour !

Conseils de préparation

La préparation

Les courses désert sont des courses d’endurance et les coureurs doivent se préparer mentalement, mais surtout physiquement à l’exercice. Il faudra donc s’intéresser à l’aspect diététique. Comme la course se déroule en autosuffisance alimentaire sous un soleil rude, il faudra que le coureur soit bien hydraté et bien alimenté pour ne pas céder sous le coup du climat. La plupart des coureurs, conscients de la difficulté de l’épreuve, choisissent de suivre des régimes et de s’en tenir à une alimentation équilibrée des mois à l’avance.

Pendant la course

Les coureurs sont en autosuffisance pendant toute la durée de l’épreuve. Ils doivent par ailleurs voyager léger et doivent avoir une ration minimum de 2000 kcal/jour. Le but est d’arriver à restituer les réserves que l’organisme va consommer pendant la course. L’hypoglycémie traduit l’épuisement des réserves en sucre du corps. Lorsque la glycémie baisse, cela entraine l’épuisement total du corps. Il faudra alors penser à opter pour des aliments riches en glucide et des aliments liquides, car ils seront plus faciles à ingérer pendant la marche. De plus, ils vont aider à diminuer les coups de mou pendant la course. Il faudra également penser à s’hydrater avant, pendant et après la course pour éviter la déshydratation. Ainsi, il faudra faire le plein d’eau et de pastilles énergétiques. Associés ensemble, ils vont aider le corps à mieux supporter l’épreuve. Après la course

Après l’effort

le corps tout comme l’organisme sont fatigués et le coureur se doit d’habituer progressivement son organisme notamment son système digestif à une alimentation plus régulière. Au risque de le perturber, il vaut mieux y aller doucement et éviter les rations trop gourmandes et les plats difficiles à digérer au profit de rations plus légères et en quantité modérée. En résumé, l’alimentation et l’hydratation sont importantes lorsqu’on s’engage dans ce type d’aventure. Comme le Marathon des Sables est une épreuve d’endurance, il faudra que le corps puisse supporter le coup et à cet effet, il est important d’avoir une alimentation adaptée.

Hygiène

Sachez qu’il n’y a ni WC, ni douches, ni électricité, ni prises de portable… Mais voici du petit matériel pour assurer une hygiène minimum : Serviette microfibre Gants fraîcheur - ces gants permettent de se laver sans eau. Fil + Aiguilles, Patch tissu, Colle - un bon raideur est aussi un bon bricoleur… Kleenex, Crème solaire, Crème anti-frottement, Savon, Boules Quies

Alimentation

Les courses désert font parti des courses les plus difficiles au monde avec le Marathon des sables et ce n’est pas pour rien qu’il a hérité de cet adjectif, car il se dispute sur plus de 240 km en 6 étapes et 7 jours, le tout dans des conditions climatiques extrêmes. Le coureur quant à lui, est en autosuffisance alimentaire durant toute l’épreuve. Pour ceux qui envisagent d’y participer, voici quelques conseils à retenir.

Proposition d’un protocole hydratation / alimentation

En partenariat avec Isostar et un nutritionniste professionnel, vous trouverez ci-dessous un protocole d’hydratation / alimentation adapté. Les conditions climatiques chaudes du désert nécessitent une consommation liquide assez conséquente. En partant sur une base de 800 ml par heure et un apport en glucides de 90 gr par heure voici votre consommation estimée :

1 GEL ÉNERGÉTIQUE BOOSTER ↦ 16 GR / H L

e gel s’ingère facilement et rapidement, même lorsqu’on est fatigué. À effet rapide, ils sont à prendre en continu, en variant les goûts à chaque fois. Toutes les 60 minutes en alternance. ½ BARRE

ENDURANCE ↦ 14 GR / H DE GLUCIDES

Ces barres sont à énergie rapide, et apportent « quelque chose à digérer pour l’estomac ». A effet rapide, ils sont à prendre en continu, en variant les goûts à chaque fois. ½ barre toutes les 30 minutes en alternance

BOISSON H&P : 800 ML / H ↦ 56 GR / H DE GLUCIDES H&P

Boisson minérale chargée en électrolytes élaboré pour : • L’apport d’énergie (association de sucre lents et rapides) • Éviter une perte trop importante de sels minéraux • Maintenir un effort soutenu pendant plusieurs heures • Lutter contre les défaillances musculaires

STICK BICARBONATE

Une action innovante qui participe à neutraliser l’acide lactique au sein du muscle. À la fin de l’effort. Tout en continuant à s’hydrater, refaire les stocks énergétiques et reposer les muscles. Repas – Pack 7 jours autonomie (1 sachet = 1 repas)

Le Pack de course désert est une bonne base. Reconditionner ses repas dans des sachets congélation fait gagner dans tous les cas environ 500 grammes et beaucoup de place dans le sac à dos. Ce pack est une BASE ; à vous de le compléter par des petits trucs qui vous feront envie et qui vous remonteront le moral ! Préférez du salé… Note : Ce plat peut se réhydrater aussi à l’eau chaude afin d’accélérer le processus de réhydratation.