Thinking of running a trail marathon?

Find all our advice for your next race, equipment, training... We have put together everything you need to be ready on the start line.

A message from our athletes

Running a trail marathon is the first step before moving on to Ultra. Read the advice of Dorian Marchal and Alvin Lair, two young RaidLight athletes.

Training

How much training volume? How far? Find a training plan to prepare for a 42 kilometre race with tips to be ready for the big day.

Equipment

RaidLight offers equipment for trail runners from head to toe, whether you are a beginner or an expert.

Some words from our Team Members

What I like about these formats is that you can run all the way through, recover from the races pretty quickly and not need to do too much training to finish them. And at the same time it's already a format that requires careful race management, including nutrition / hydration level, we are never at full speed except at the very end and it allows you to really enjoy the fast descents without taking too many risks and enjoy the view at the top, these kinds of little things that make the trail very special.

On the shorter races, I am unable to look at the view at the top and in general there is not enough distance to have really varied or high elevation courses if we start from the valley. Also, the marathon formats are for me those where the competition level is higher and the races are larger numbers of entrants which satisfies my competitive side!

But beginner or expert it's a complete format that takes the best aspects of shorter trail races and longer ultra races!

DORIAN MARCHAL 23 YEARS OLD - TEAM RAIDLIGHT FRANCE ATHLETE: 1ST ONE & ONE / 1ST SWISSPEAKS 35KM / 15TH OCC

Your first 40km? Make sure you learn from plenty of shorter races first.You have to prepare for a 40km, you have to adapt your training and above all do not miss sessions! You need to build your training (do not go from one session per week to four but build gradually) and first some shorter distance races to learn from (15km, 20km, 30km). Do not get ahead of yourself. Choose a trail race or location that has a special meaning for you, because of its history or landscape ... It will be a source of motivation to finish

ALVIN LAIR - TEAM RAIDLIGHT

PREPARATION ADVICE

Training

Remember to look at the total elevation and elevation profile of the race in order to prioritise your training accordingly. If the course is rolling (fairly flat), do sessions on flat ground to acquire maximum speed. If on the contrary the course is very steep, do sessions on hills instead. In short, you should train as much as possible on the type of terrain and/or the altitude difference of the course.

Alimentation

A little advice, fill up on carbohydrates one week before the event by eating mainly rice and pasta. During the race, the idea is to eat small but regular amounts. Personally, I regularly use the gels every 45 minutes. Also remember to vary the tastes between salty and sweet so as not to be disgusted. As far as drinks are concerned, it's a bit different, you need to hydrate as well and as often as possible.

Equipment

For these distances, remember to look first: the weight - the comfort - the practical side. Choose according to the temperature and time of day of the race. RaidLight tops and legwear come with pockets for additional storage. Maybe arm sleeves and a short sleeved top is better especially on an early start. Legwear, shorts or 3/4 are most versatile. A jacket is important to carry (often mandatory), it must be very light and small pack size because on these distances there is more chance of big technical elevations and weather changes.

Running Pack / Race Vest

2 bottles are better than one. On longer races you can tire of the same taste, this allows you to mix, or just use plain water. Make sure you can fit all the mandatory kit comfortably, a bulging race vest can be uncomfortable and more complicated to get things easily. Our 3 ranges offer the expert, the competitor and the novice exactly what they need.

Trail Running Shoes

Choose wisely. Fit and comfort and the most important thing in footwear. Make sure you assess the terrain and the shoe you want to use has enough tread, support, cushion for you. Our XP and Ultra shoes are more suited to harder ground, where the Dynamic and Revolutiv shoes suit more varied terrains and are better in soft ground/mud.

TRAINING PROGRAM

3-4 sessions per week

1 x 12-week phase

- 1 x VO2 max aerobic session(VMA) - 1 x general physical development (GPP), educational (PPS), hills - 1 x aerobic endurance session, with specific pace reminders

Vous pensez à courir une distance marathon ?

Retrouvez tous nos conseils pour votre prochaine course, équipement, entrainement… Nous avons tout réuni pour que vous soyez prêt sur la ligne de départ !

Le Mot des athlètes

Courir une distance marathon est une première étape avant de se tourner vers un Ultra-trail. Retrouvez les conseils de Dorian Marchal et Alvin Lair, deux jeunes athlètes RaidLight.

Entrainement

Quel volume d'entrainement ? Quelle distance ? Retrouvez un plan d'entrainement pour préparer un 42 kilomètres avec des conseils pour être prêt le jour J.

Equipement

RaidLight propose un équipement pour les traileurs de la tête aux pieds, que vous soyez débutant ou expert.

Le Mot des Membres du Team

« Ce que j’aime bien sur ces formats c’est qu’on peut courir tout du long, récupérer assez vite des courses et ne pas avoir besoin de faire trop de volume d’entraînement pour les finir. Et en même temps c’est déjà un format qui demande une gestion de course réfléchie, notamment niveau nutrition/hydratation, on n’est jamais à bloc à part à la toute fin et ça permet de vraiment profiter des descentes rapides sans prendre trop de risques et de profiter de la vue au sommet, ce genre de petites choses qui rendent le trail très spécial.

Sur du plus court, je suis incapable de regarder la vue au sommet et en général on ne fait pas assez de distance pour avoir des parcours vraiment variés et aériens si on part de la plaine. Aussi, les formats marathons sont pour moi ceux où le niveau est le plus relevé et les courses sont assez denses ce qui satisfait mon côté compétitif !

Mais débutant ou confirmé c’est un format complet et qui prend les bons côtés du plus court comme du plus long ! »

DORIAN MARCHAL 23 ANS – ATHLÈTE FRANÇAIS DU TEAM RAIDLIGH 1ER ONE & ONE / 1ER SWISSPEAKS 35KM / 15ÈME OCC

« Sur un premier 40 km ? Faire suffisamment de distances intermédiaires. Un 40 km se prépare, il faut adapter son entrainement et surtout ne pas griller les étapes ! Cela nécessite un entrainement adapté (ne pas passer d’une séance par semaine à quatre mais y aller progressivement) et tenter d’abord des distances plus courtes (15 km, 20 km, 30 km). Ne pas se lancer mais surtout choisir un trail qui a une signification particulière pour toi, de par son histoire ou paysages... Ce sera source de motivation pour le finir, et bien ! »

LE MOT DES MEMBRES DU TEAM CHRISTOPHE G. / YANN L. / STÉPHANE P. / DAVID V.

CONSEILS DE PREPARATION

Entraînement

Pensez à regarder en premier le dénivelé et le profil altimétrique de l’épreuve afin d’orienter au mieux l’entraînement en fonction. Si le parcours annoncé est plutôt roulant (assez plat), faire des séances sur un terrain plat pour acquérir un maximum de vitesse. Si au contraire le parcours est très raide, faire plutôt des séances dans des côtes. En résumé, il faut s’entraîner un maximum sur le type de terrain et/ou dénivelé à effectuer.

Alimentation

Un petit conseil, faire le plein de glucides une semaine avant l’épreuve en mangeant principalement du riz et des pâtes. En course, l’idée est de s’alimenter en petites quantités mais régulièrement. À titre personnel j’utilise régulièrement les gels toutes les 45 minutes. Pensez aussi à varier les goûts entre salé et sucré pour ne pas être écœuré. Côté boisson, c’est un peu différent, il faut s’hydrater le mieux et le plus souvent possible.

Matériel

Pour ces distances, pensez à regarder en premier : le poids • le confort • le côté pratique Choisir en fonction de la température et du temps annoncé le jour de la course, idem pour le bas en privilégiant la légèreté et le confort bien évidemment (temps de séchage si la température est trop importante…). Le plus pratique sur ces formats sont les ceintures, légères et super pratiques, on peut mettre les barres et gels dans la poche principale. La veste a aussi son importance, elle doit être très légère et compacte car sur ces distances il y a plus de chance de grosses amplitudes techniques et changements de météo.

Le sac

Il doit être pratique avec les deux flasques accessibles à proximité, léger sur ce format de course mais bien pensé afin d’y rentrer tout le matériel obligatoire. Avoir deux flasques permet de varier les goûts et d’avoir toujours la quantité d’eau à consommer à proximité. Concernant les chaussures, pensez à regarder la protection et l’amorti contrairement aux formats plus courts.

Les chaussures

Privilégier une chaussure dynamique et confortable avec un bon amorti pour tenir la distance.

CONSEILS D'ENTRAINEMENT

Entrainements de 3-4 sessions par semaine

1x phase de 12 semaines, sachant que l’approche de l’objectif en fera 8, à vos calculs •

1x séance VMA • 1x séance développement physique général (PPG), éducatifs (PPS), côtes • 1x séance endurance aérobie, avec rappels d’allure spécifique